To Tweet or not to Tweet

Testing. Is this thing on?

Okay guys, I need you to please hear me out. I know Twitter started out as a hot commodity. It was just so groovy to post my thoughts and my whereabouts all week long. But can I tell you something? I don’t have the head to keep posting my thoughts and my whereabouts. It’s not that I don’t want you guys to know my whereabouts. It’s just that, well . . . do you really give a rat’s ass what I’m doing all day long? Does anyone really care about my bad hair day or that I’m meeting my gay friends for drinks? Or that I got my stiletto heal stuck in the metal groove on the escalator in the Menlo Park Mall? I don’t think so.
Why are we telling the world what we’re doing and who we’re with and what we want to aspire to when we grow up? I mean, really guys. Who has the time? But here’s what gets me.
We complain that the government knows too much of our business. We worry over identity theft. We’re afraid of being stalked. Hello? If you keep Twittering all day long, you can pretty much bet that your life is out there for the whole wide world to see.

Okay. I feel better. I just had to get this off my chest. Maybe I should have Tweeted this. Hmmm, not such a bad idea. Heck. What’s one more Tweet for the road?

Valentine deFrancis on Twitter

10 thoughts on “To Tweet or not to Tweet

  1. I don’t like giving out my location either, I have even removed whereabouts on twitter and I never ever share my personal information on any of the social networking websites.
    If we don’t want others interfering in our lives we have to start by not providing information.

    For me twitter is about talking to like minded people and talking about books and such:)

    I tend to tweet more when i am free. It goes to almost zero when I have to work or study!
    what about you?

  2. Hi, actually I’m just like you. I don’t give out personal info and I tweet for career purposes and to join forces with other writers and artists. When I’m writing a manuscript, I don’t tweet or do any social sites. But when I’m in the publishing stage, like I’m in at the moment, then I have free time to go to different sites and participate.

  3. Well well…finally someday said this! Honestly speaking, though I’m on twitter, I don’t tweet! I just don’t know how it works. I don’t understand the follow unfollow thingy either. Regarding personal info, I’m totally against that.

  4. Hi well, it took some getting used to for me, and I’m just now getting good at it. I think for me, Twitter is a good way to make acquaintences and to network. But some of the things I read from others? Whoooo, lol

Leave a Reply

