ARE THE REAL HOUSEWIVES OF NEW YORK FOR REAL ?

I never thought that I would be saying this, let alone be writing about it, but *deep breath* I’ve become addicted to Bravo’s Real Housewives of New York. I know, I know. It’s awful and embarrassing, but at least let me explain.
First of all, I’m a Hamptons buff. I love the place. I love its history, the beaches, the fields, the homes . . . its alluring mystery. I can’t get enough of it. So when I found out that The Real Housewives of NY is partly filmed in the Hamptons, I had to watch it. Anyway, once I started to watch the show, I was shamefully drawn into how these ladies were acting towards each other. I COULD NOT BELIEVE all the backstabbing, the whispering, the finger pointing, the jealous gossip, the smear campaigns—OMG! Is that what money does to people? Or should I say, *Luann, this is for you, girl* CAN MONEY BUY YOU CLASS? Obviously it can’t. I believe Luann de Lesseps’ new dance hit is quite apropos, considering how juvenile and bitchy this rich group is. BTW, I’d refer to Luann as “Countess”, but to be a “Countess”, one would at least have to be married to a Count. So anyway, where was I? I posted a picture of THE HOUSEWIVES, up above. They’re a good looking bunch, aren’t they? So what makes them so miserable? They have money. They have success. They have tons of celebrity friends. They have loving families. So why are they so bee-och-ee? And Jill Zarin? Well, when I’m watching Jill Zarin about to pull one of her ‘poor me, I’m a victim’ routines, I’m actually on the edge of my bed talking to her: Jill, don’t do it. Don’t do it, Jill. Don’t go there. You’re doing it. Jill, you did it. WTF is wrong with you, woman?

So here’s my question. Are the ladies putting on an act for the sake of ratings, or are they really that mean and petty? Somebody tell me, please? Because I have to admit, these ladies are the kind of ladies that you just love to hate. They’re great!!!

2 thoughts on “ARE THE REAL HOUSEWIVES OF NEW YORK FOR REAL ?

  1. I think they’re that mean and petty. Money does funny things to a person. So does media attention.

    And the media rewards people for being on their worst behavior. I don’t think they have to ‘edit’ bad behavior on the part of these women. They just sit back and enjoy the show. The hard part is probably sifting through so much crap in the editing room, and finding stuff to use that isn’t so blatantly inflammatory as to result in lawsuits.

  2. Hi Sophie, I think you’re right. God only knows what really takes place during filming. And I watched the season finale, and I’m wondering if they’re even coming back. For some reason I get the feeling that it may be over for them. I dunno . . .

Leave a Reply

