Ballin’ the Jack—Sex right up

When I was about thirteen, the word that was used to describe intercourse was “ballin”.
I don’t know how it came to be, but when someone said that they balled a chick or a dude, it meant that they had sex with them. I know, I know. How did the word ‘ballin’ get mixed up with the song, Ballin’ the Jack? I honestly don’t know. I don’t understand how Ballin’ the Jack came to be. It’s supposed to be the name of a dance, but what kind of dance? The horizontal mambo? *slight snicker*

Okay, I’ll stop being a wise a$$. But seriously, guys. Is the Ballin’ the Jack the same thing as doing the Hokey Pokey? I’m confused.
When I first heard the expression, Ballin’ the Jack, I thought that it meant that someone was having sex with a person who was referred to as a ‘Jack’. Hey, what did I know? You have to remember that I was a teenager in the early 70s. This was the lingo that all the cool people used. They didn’t go around saying, “Yo, dude, I just hit that last night”, referring to a guy having sex with a girl. They used the word, ballin’. But getting back to the song . . . what does ballin’ mean in terms of ballin’ a jack? Seriously. Does anyone out there know why the writer of this song called it ballin’? And what’s a jack?

Why do I have these questions? Is it just me? Don’t answer that.

Ballin’ the Jack

First you put your two knees close up tight,
Then you sway ’em to the left, then you sway ’em to the right,
Step around the floor kind of nice and light,
Then you twis’ around and twis’ around with all your might,
Stretch your lovin’ arms straight out in space
Then do the Eagle Rock with style and grace
Swing your foot way ’round then bring it back,
Now that’s what I call “Ballin’ the Jack.”

Music by Chris Smith
Lyrics by Jim Burris
Published 1913

Leave a Reply

