Are they freakin’ kidding me ?

Now I’ve seen it all. It’s not even the middle of October and right before my very eyes, what did I see? Christmas decorations! Can you believe that? I’m stunned. It’s not even Halloween. We didn’t get to trick-o-treat. The leaves haven’t turned colors—they didn’t fall to the ground. All the apple trees haven’t been picked and the pumpkins are waiting to be carved. What kind of clueless person puts out Christmas decorations in the first week of October? Seriously. Can someone shed a little insight as to why?

In my mind, we’re still in a summerish type of mode. We’re not into the Fall and we’re not in the Summer. You guys know what I’m saying. It’s ONLY OCTOBER 13th, damn it. Why the Christmas decorations? It’s depressing.
Last year, the same thing happened, but not quite this early. On my street, the Christmas decorations went up after Halloween. That was bad enough. My neighbors skipped right over Thanksgiving as if it didn’t exist. But now, they’ve gone too far. I can’t take it. I know the kiddies can’t wait for Santa, but come on. Let the kids wait. They shouldn’t be so spoiled. The kids need to learn patience and value. What kind of example are we setting if we indulge our kids with immediate gratification every time they whimper? Really! Our generation is messed-up beyond repair. Do we really need to indulge the young ones just to keep them from whining and crying? I can’t stand it.

Why are we rushing through our lives? I want to feel my memories of the summer. I want to keep them fresh and vivid. Time is never gone and it’s never replenished. We all have the same amount. It’s what we do with it that counts. Let’s take a moment to just be. Let’s take a stroll through the countryside and just listen to the sounds of life. Let’s reflect on why we’re here and what it means to be alive. Who gives a s$$t about rushing the holidays just so your kids don’t have a hissy fit? I say screw the kids. Teach them about life. Let them sweat it out. It builds character. It makes them strong. It will make them appreciate who they are. It will make them not take life for granted.

Listen. When you’re young, you think that life will never end. You think you’re impervious to the finality of it. Then you turn 40, and you begin to understand that life does have an ending here on earth. And when you turn 50, you start to keep track of each day, thinking about the things that you should-have and could-have done. Trust me. Life is precious in the physical world. We need to slow down and value each moment. Because just when you think that it doesn’t catch up to you, it does. There’s nothing worse than looking back on your life and regretting the way you’ve lived it.

One thought on “Are they freakin’ kidding me ?

  1. I SAT ANIT THAT THE TRUTH. IT SEEMS AS IF IN EVERYDAY LIFE EVERYONE RUSHES TO DO WHAT THEY CAN. NEVER SLOWING DOWN TO LOOK AROUND AT WHATS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM. IT’S A SHAME BECAUSE I’VE DONE THE SAME THING AND WONERDED NOW WHAT DID I MISS. GREAT BLOG VAL

Leave a Reply

