Tipping and stuff

Have you ever kissed up to someone just to get something out of them? I apologize for the bluntness of my question, but I’m a person who doesn’t believe in beating around the bush. So, back to my question. Have you? If you say that you never have, then you’re lying to yourself. At some point in time, whether you’ve chosen to acknowledge it or not, you’ve consciously or unconsciously polished a few door knobs to get something. Maybe you’ve become chummy with your neighbor, who you’ve snubbed for years, after learning that he works for your favorite retailer. Or maybe you’ve overtipped the hostess at your favorite restaurant, just so you can ALWAYS get a table. Come on, we’ve all done it to a degree, right? But then I got to thinking. Now don’t go giving me that look. I was thinking that it’s a shame that people need to kiss up or grease palms to get a favor. It’s like we’re at the mercy of those we’re sucking up to. Are they prostitutes and we the Johns?

I don’t want this to come out the wrong way. I believe that one hand washes the other, but I also believe in helping the next guy without getting a payoff for it. I guess that brings me back to the subject of money. What if you don’t have money to grease someone’s palm? What if you’re an average Joe, earning an average income? If you can’t afford to grease palms does it mean that you shouldn’t be treated the same way as those who ‘pay’ for their royal treatment?

I realize that money is a motivator and who doesn’t love money? But what happened to doing something nice just because? Do we have to suck every last dollar out of a person in order for us to help them?
I don’t know about you, but I believe that what goes around comes around. To receive you have to give.

And what about tipping? Oh gosh, don’t get me started there. Does a factory worker, earning minimum wage, expect to get tipped? I don’t think so. So why does a waiter expect to get tipped? Think about that. A restaurant owner hires a waiter, pays him minimum wage, just like the factory worker, only the waiter expects to be tipped. If you really think about that then you’ll have to agree that there’s a glitch somewhere. And what about donut shops and coffee shops. They put tip boxes at the registers expecting us to tip them for doing their jobs. Forgive me if I’m sounding cranky, but you know what? I don’t care. Where’s the justice? Don’t tell me that a factory worker is any different from a counter person. They both make the same minimum wage. The only difference is one works with the expectation of getting their weekly salary and the other expects to get compensated for doing what they’re already getting paid to do.
So does this mean that all office workers should put a tip box on their desks? Could you imagine? This country is out of control. Tipping is required when someone works on tips only. I can totallly get with that. By us tipping we’re being more than generous. Don’t you think? But tip boxes at EZ Pass? Okay, moving on.

Maybe I’ll put out a tip box at my next book signing. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do. I can just see the expressions on people’s faces. Priceless.

Leave a Reply

