Why did God create fireflies

Why did God create fireflies? Was it to light our paths at night? I’m sure that it wasn’t a coinky-dink that their tails light up only when it’s dark out. I’m a thinker, and you know me. If there is a thought to be had, I’m probably going to have it.

I was walking this morning, as I do every morning, and from out of nowhere I say to myself, where are the firelies? How come I don’t see them during the day? Is it because they go to sleep in their little firefly beds and only come out at night? Or, are they in a firefly day care center? Where are they? Then I got to thinking. I said to myself, if they only come out at night, then God made it that way for a reason.

Then another thought came to me. And I bowed my head and chuckled under my breath. I figured it out. They’re solar powered. They lay on the beach all day, soaking up the sun and then at night, they disburse their light until it’s depleted. Then, they go back on the beach—to the nudist beach, of course–and regenerate themselves. So that’s it! They’re nudists who get too much sun.

Boy … I am really happy that God gave me this brain. I’d be sooo lonely without it.

Leave a Reply

